Guide to Crystals and Chakras

Chakras are energy centers within our bodies. Whenever chakras are under-active or overactive, the energy imbalance can cause problems on the emotional, mental or physical plane. There are many different crystals that we can use for chakra healing. This blog is a quick guide to help you get familiar with the seven chakras. This guide will also include crystal recommendations to balance these energy centers.

Root Chakra

The first chakra is located at the base of the spine and is called the Root Chakra. The color associated with this chakra is red, which symbolizes passion, vitality, and strength. When balanced, the Root chakra provides feelings of security, safety, and motivation. Considering it is the base of the chakras, it is imperative that this chakra remains balanced in order to avoid feeling ungrounded, anxious, or detached from reality. Crystals that are helpful in balancing the root chakra would be obsidian and black tourmaline.

Sacral Chakra

The second chakra is the Sacral chakra, located below the navel or belly button area. The color orange corresponds with this chakra, representing energy, enthusiasm, and joy. If the Sacral chakra is balanced, it can promote creativity, positive self-image, and happiness. However, if unbalanced, it can result in issues with self-worth, self-expression, and setting boundaries. Some crystal recommendations for the Sacral chakra would be carnelian and tiger's eye.

Solar Plexus Chakra

The third chakra is the Solar Plexus chakra, the energy center is placed below the ribcage but above the navel area. This chakra correlated to the color yellow, which is associated with abundance, courage, and clarity. If this chakra is not functioning properly, it can cause low self-esteem, indecisiveness, and passivity. A balanced Solar Plexus chakra promotes positivity, self-esteem, and assertiveness. Citrine and pyrite are beneficial crystals for aligning this chakra.

Heart Chakra

The fourth chakra is the Heart chakra, located in the ribcage where the heart would be. The color associated with this energy center is green, which represents growth, prosperity, and rebirth. When the Heart chakra is out of balance, feelings of envy, suspicion, and anger tend to arise. When in balance, the Heart chakra allows feelings of love, trust, and compassion to thrive. Crystals like Malachite and Green Aventurine are ideal for bringing this energy center into alignment.

Throat Chakra

The fifth chakra is the Throat chakra, located in the neck area. The color commonly associated with this chakra is blue, symbolizing calmness, tranquility, and freedom. When the Throat chakra is not in tune, difficulties occur with communication, self-expression, and honesty. A balanced Throat chakra aids in confidence, good communication, and clarity. Lapis Lazuli and Kyanite crystals help to balance this chakra.

Third Eye Chakra

The sixth chakra is the Third Eye chakra, this energy center is present in the area between the eyebrows. The color indigo is often associated with this chakra and represents understanding, awareness, and knowledge. An unbalanced Third Eye Chakra can cause fearfulness, lack of foresight, and negative thought patterns. A balanced Third Eye chakra promotes intuition, perceptiveness, and imagination. Crystals like Celestite and Angelite are useful when working with this chakra.

Crown Chakra

The seventh and final chakra is the Crown Chakra, located at the crown or top of the head. The color purple is related to this chakra and symbolizes regality, introspection, and compassion. If the Crown chakra is out of balance, it can be difficult to find a sense of connection to the greater forces in life, causing frustration and a lack of awareness. A balanced Crown chakra helps access inner wisdom, enlightenment, and trust in the universe. Amethyst and Labradorite aid in opening up this chakra.